In Person

Tempe Sonoran University

August 13-16th
4 days (24 hour) Training consolidating what was EFIT Level 1 and EFIT Level 2

Emotionally Focused Individual Therapy (EFIT) Essentials

The training program is designed to provide participants with a robust groundwork and advanced understanding of the EFIT model, integrated within an attachment science framework. By blending theoretical instruction with experiential exercises, participants will be skillfully guided to implement the model in their clinical practice, fostering their development as proficient, attuned, and responsive EFIT therapists.

Throughout the program, participants will:

  • Articulate the fundamental tenets of the attachment perspective on personality and its significance in clinical intervention.
  • Analyze client dynamics within and across cycles, elucidating how they co-create and interconnect, thereby contributing to presenting problems manifested as emotional disorders.
  • Define the core components of emotional disorders, specifically depression and anxiety.
  • Examine the process of change and the elements of the EFT Tango to shape corrective emotional experiences, including affect assembly and deepening.
  • Identify the micro-interventions employed by EFT therapists.
  • Assess the applicability of EFIT across clients with diverse symptomatology.
  • Embrace an attachment humanistic viewpoint on clients, issues, and interventions.
  • Unearth and distill core emotional experiences while nurturing emotional equilibrium.
  • Outline protective, self-defining, and interactional iatrogenic patterns.
  • Employ the 5 moves of the EFT Tango to craft corrective emotional experiences and EFT micro-interventions.
  • Construct narratives that expand self-awareness and enhance interpersonal connections.
  • Integrate corrective emotional experiences into models of self and other.
  • Affirm the client’s sense of competence and worth in each session.

EFIT Level 1 + EFIT Level 2 collectively constitute EFIT Essentials. Please note: In 2024, EFIT Levels 1 & 2 will be replaced by EFIT Essentials. If not planning to undertake EFIT Levels 1 & 2 in rapid succession, we highly recommend enrolling in an Essentials course.

Required reading:

  • “A Primer for Emotionally Focused Individual Therapy (EFIT): Cultivating Fitness and Growth in Every Client” by Susan M. Johnson and T. Leanne Campbell, 2022. Routledge.

Recommended Readings:

  • “Attachment Theory in Practice: Emotionally Focused Therapy (EFT) with Individuals, Couples, and Families” by Dr. Susan M. Johnson, 2019.

“Becoming an Emotionally Focused Therapist: The Workbook (2nd Edition)” by James L. Furrow, Susan M. Johnson, Brent Bradley, Lorrie L. Brubacher, T. Leanne Campbell, Veronica Kallos-Lilly, Gail Palmer, Kathryn Rheem, Scott R. Woolley, 2022. Routledge.